Love yourself cardigan

Hi everyone,

Gosh it has been such a long time that I have written on here. I’ve been extremely busy pattern writing and have put out the patterns for my Candy Cowl and Criss Cross Gloves which you can find on Ravelry and on my Etsy page. The Criss Cross Gloves were a Christmas present for a friend, actually the same person who asked for the Smiths scarf and so were designed to match! These light but snuggly gloves can be made over a weekend and make a light layer for these chilly spring days, although I’ll admit with the blizzards we’ve been having in the UK recently you might need something a bit heavier!

The Candy cowl caused many a giggle in my crochet group in Cambridge. I was given the yarn as a present and thought it had to be made into something bubbly and super girly. However I don’t have a tendency to wear things that are super girly, so I spent a few weekends telling my friends how much I would never wear the cowl. I then proceeded to eat my words as it is soooooo cosy that I have worn it every time I go to the gym. As usual it’s the spontaneous projects that you tend to get the most use out of!

In my ‘real life’ I am nearing the end of my PhD so am finding myself crocheting with bleary eyes. I’m aiming to finish this summer so am sitting writing this now while in my office (on a Sunday by the way) in between paragraphs of my thesis. In the past few months I’ve also managed to set myself up on Ravelry, am trying to link that to my loveknitting profile and am basically becoming a tech/pattern organisational guru.

Fotor_152070477885842

I wanted to tell you about the love yourself cardigan, my latest pattern which I only finished making during the week! This is made from my hand dyed yarn, which I actually made first as a bit of a dying experiment, then had to dye up a lot more of the colour once I had realised I wanted to make this cardigan with it. The colour is a blend of pinks and maroons which I absolutely adore. The pattern is called love yourself because I found myself reading the valentines addition of Inside Crochet magazine and thought, “screw valentines day, I’m making something to show myself how great I am”! So what better than a heart coloured cardigan that can hug you all day long! I am thinking of writing a dye pattern to make up this yarn yourself if anyone is interested. Otherwise you can make it with standard 4ply yarn using the tension shown in the pattern.

Anyway, keeping it brief today. I’m flying off to present at a conference in Utrecht tomorrow so I better get back to being stressed about trains/flights/standing up in front of an awful lot of people and pretending like I know what I’m talking about.

Hope to talk soon, keep an eye out for my #loveyourselfcardigan pattern!

Ells

xx

Leave a comment