Alicia Headband

Hi all. Wow it’s been a long time since I posted last. I have finally hit the last year of my PhD so it is all work and no play for me at the moment. Ok, so it’s not entirely no play, I am still managing to find some crocheting time.

IMG_4117

This headband was requested by a colleague of mine. She wanted a headband for the winter but struggles with itchy wool and finds that she is often too hot in heavily knitted headbands and hats. She showed me a photo that she had found of a headwrap (from the looks of it, it was a piece of knitted fabric wrapped around several times…is that called a headwrap?) with a knot at the front. We figured out exactly what she wanted, something light and easy to wear, and this design was born!

Obviously my first stop was cotton, for a light and comfortable knit. I had previously used Sirdar Cotton DK for a top and absolutely loved the sheen of it. It also has quite a nice amount of stretch in it, which is perfect for a headband! To create the wrapped knot effect I used a concept that I have seen a few times in chunky crocheted headbands. The basic idea is to make two interlinking circles then, folding these circles back on themselves, stitch the two circles of fabric together. When you are wearing this you will essentially have one circle of fabric on each side of your head, with the seam at the back and the knot at the front. Hopefully this will become a bit more self-explanatory when you have the product in front of you! This pattern really is very easy, and gives such a gorgeous effect. I am already planning on making another one for myself!

IMG_4248

So lets get on with the pattern! I hope you enjoy, and please please please tag me on Instagram in any pictures. I would love to see how you are getting on!

 

Materials:

1 x Sirdar Cotton DK

6mm crochet hook

Scissors

Yarn needle

Pattern:

This pattern is written in UK terminology and is for a head size of around 56cm. This can be adjusted to fit your head, just keep the number of stitches in the foundation chain even.

Abbreviations (UK):

Ch: Chain

Dc: Double crochet

Tr: Treble crochet

SS: slip stitch

Sk: skip

Loop:

Ch64, SS to start making sure chain does not twist.

Round 1-2: Ch1, Dc in same stitch. Dc in each stitch around twice without joining between rounds.

Round 3: 2 Tr in first Dc, (Sk 1, 2 tr in next stitch) around.

Round 4- 7: 2 tr in space between 2 tr pairs from previous row. Work in the round for 4 rows without joining between rounds.

Round 8-9: Dc in each stitch around twice without joining between rounds.

Tie off yarn and weave in loose ends.

Ch64, thread chain through previous loop and SS to start making sure chain does not twist.

Repeat rounds 1-9 on second loop.

Tie off yarn and weave in loose ends.

Sew up:

Hold two loops apart, with join in centre. Fold loops together and join with SS at ends.

Weave in loose ends.

1 thought on “Alicia Headband”

Leave a comment