Making Sound Waves

Hi all, I hope you have had a good week.

I’m a little late writing this week, would you believe I was distracted by the Eurovision? My family are slightly fanatical about the annual parade of colour, costumes and people pretending to play instruments on stage. I’m talking homemade score sheets, bunting and lots and lots of alcohol! Fortunately, it did mean I had a lovely relaxed weekend at my parent’s house with plenty of time to finish my new Soundwaves Cowl by Sarah Knight from ‘Crafts from the Cwtch’.

I realise that a cowl is a bit of an odd project to make at the beginning of summer. But with the weather being as cold and miserable as it is I thought I would get some use out of it. Of course, the second I tied off that last stitch the sun came out and it has been gorgeous ever since! So next time you want it to be a bit more summery, just finish off that winter jumper project you have had lying around!

The cowl is made usiSoundwaves_1.JPGng Scheepjes Colour Crafter for the bold colour and CC Velvet for the speckled grey. I chose Coevorden as my accent colour, which looked like almost an olive colour online, but came out a lot more mustard. Actually I love the way the colour worked up! I tend to find yellow yarns hard to buy online because they always seem to come out more creamy than I wanted, so I tried to go for the darker colour here to negate that, and I think it worked brilliantly! My biggest qualm with this yarn is that it is so fluffy, which is great to wear but not so great to stitch with. I think I spent more time untying knots in the yarn and pulling fluff out of my mouth than I did actually making this project!

When I was making this project I was a tad worried that it was going to sit up quite tall and look a little like a neck brace but the fabric drapes really nicely giving it a lot more volume than other cowls I have made in the past which tend to sit quite flat. It is also super lightweight so actually it wouldn’t be an absurd thing to wear even on a slightly drab spring day. Overall this is such a simple and lovely little project to make to add a bit of a colour injection. For me it has been a little two-week distraction from other works in progress that have been looming over me for far too long.

I also want to make a particular point of mentioning that Sarah talks about how cost effective this project is. Most of us craft addicts can’t buy all the luxury yarn that our hearts desire; I sadly can never justify spending my weekly food budget on a hand-dyed, hand-spun yarn made from magical flying sheep. So I always love it when I pick up a pattern that includes a list of cheaper substitute yarns. Most of the time I am that crafter who trawls the web looking at yarn tensions and scratching my head trying to figure out how much I need to try and save a bit of cash! So thank you Sarah for not making me do that on this gorgeous project. It also means you have no excuse to not give this pattern a go!

Talk to you soon and happy crafting!

Ells xx

http://www.craftsfromthecwtch.co.uk/2016/08/Soundwaves.html

1 thought on “Making Sound Waves”

Leave a comment